Ashes of love

I try to burn a hole inside
every night
in all the places you lighted fires
of you.
but you can’t burn away the light
because it threatens to engulf you
I tried to break my hand 
on the cement wall
but I couldn’t break the truth
you wrote on my palm.
And the taste of whiskey in my mouth
when I wake up
could never wash away
the taste of the longing of
your kiss;
the one you etched
eternally
on the horizon of my soul

– Ushna Shoaib (https://ushnashoaib.wordpress.com)

Leave a Reply

